The Church of Kharma Futures

The Rev's views on politics, events,faith, and the world. All content copyright Church of Kharma Future 2007-2015 All rights Reserved

Memorial Day

Posted by revkharma on May 26, 2008

Today is the day we now celebrate Memorial Day. On Friday of last week, I had someone offer me a cheery greeting : “Have a happy holiday” she said as she waved, walking away from me. At the end of a phone conversation someone said to me, ” Happy Memorial Day”, just before hanging up. Now, I realize each of these people meant anything but the best. But, the greetings jarred me. I have always understood that Memorial Day is a day specifically set aside to honor those who have given the ultimate sacrifice to protect me and my country. Tribute should be given, not cheery greetings.

Men such as Michael A. Monsoor, of the United States Navy. Or Albert Schwab, part of the invasion force going into Okinawa, or Woodrow Keeble, who earned his posthumous medal during the fighting in Korea.

This should be a day of solemn remembrances, and serious reflection on the cost of freedom, a price which has been paid by so many valiant Americans over the years. A price paid to allow us to sit at the table today, eat and drink and ignore those who are gone, and give barely a thought to those still in harms way.

Only one thing can be said: Thank You. The words are inadequate to convey the depth of gratitude felt by those of us whose freedom continues to be secured by warriors.

I found this, doing some reading, and thought I’d pass it along. Read more here.

Poems written by LCpl Jason Gerstner:

FINAL INSPECTION

The Marine stood and faced his God, which will always come to pass.

He hoped his shoes were shining, just as brightly as his brass.

Step forward now you Marine, how shall I deal with you?

Have you always turned the other cheek and to my church been true?

The marine squared his shoulders and said, “No, Lord, I guess I ain’t,

Cause those of us who carry guns can’t always be a saint.

I’ve had to work on Sundays and at times my talk was tough,

And sometimes I’ve been violent cause the world is awfully rough.

But I never took a penny that wasn’t mine to keep,

Though I worked a lot of overtime when the bills just got too steep,

And I passed a cry for help though at times I shook with fear,

And sometimes, God, forgive me, I wept unmanly tears.

I know I don’t deserve a place among the people here.

They never wanted me around except to calm their fears.

If you’ve a place for me here, Lord, it needn’t be so grand.

I never asked or had too much. If you don’t, I’ll understand.

There was silence all around the throne, where saints had often trod,

As the Marine waited quietly for the judgment of his God.

Step forward now, you Marine. You’ve borne your burdens well.

Walk peacefully on heaven’s streets. You’ve served your time in hell.


Thank God for Americans like them. God bless them, and their families. The families, too have given.

I’m not sure the origin, but we’ve all heard the lines: Some gave all, all gave some.Honor those who gave all, pray for them at least one day this weekend.

By all means,

Keep the Faith!

The Rev

One Response to “Memorial Day”

  1. ravenscawl said

    Thank you for sharing your tribute with us!
    http://ravenscawl.wordpress.com/2008/05/25/shed-tear-for-a-soldier/

Leave a Reply

 
